OHSWEKEN, Ont. – September 4, 2017 – Ohsweken Speedway will be removing the small oval from the track’s infield and removing the Bomber division to downsize to four weekly divisions for 2018. The decision to remove one of the track’s weekly Friday Night Excitement divisions was not made lightly. However, track officials felt the decision was necessary in order to continue Ohsweken’s development as Canada’s premier dirt track racing desitination.

“We looked at the numbers,” said Ohsweken Speedway owner Glenn Styres. “The cost of preparing and maintaining a track for just one division is too high. We decided it was time for a change.”

Ohsweken management recognizes the important developmental role the Bomber division has played for several drivers since its inception in 2008. Current Stickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Car driver Jesse McDonald is the all-time Bomber wins leader with 16 victories. Other drivers who got their feet wet in the Bomber division before progressing their racing careers to other levels include Crate Sprint Car and Mini Stock driver Davey Boughton, multi-time Thunder Stock and Mini Stock winner Karl Sault, reigning Mini Stock champion Mark Bazuin, Mini Stock regulars Dusty DeBoer, Tim DeBoer, and Patrick Abrahamsson as well as former 360 Sprint Car pilot Jeremy Hughes, to name just a few.

“Ohsweken Speedway would like to thank all Bomber drivers past and present for their contribution to the Speedway over the past 10 seasons.” said General Manager Clinton Geoffrey. “The track will be offering each Bomber team with perfect attendance two additional Grandstand Season Passes for 2018.”

Officials are hopeful that the current Bomber teams can return to Ohsweken in one of the track’s four weekly divisions in 2018, including the Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprints Cars, Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars, Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stocks or HRW Automotive Mini Stocks.

Drivers with additional questions or concerns should direct them via email to Ohsweken Speedway General Manager Clinton Geoffrey at clinton@ohswekenspeedway.com.


About Ohsweken Speedway: Founded in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex which includes a 3/8 (0.375) mile clay oval track. The facility is owned by the Styres family, and located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday night racing program runs from May to September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Bombers, while the season finishes each year with the annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Ohsweken Speedway also hosts weekly Micro Sprint racing on Thursday nights, and has been a yearly stop on the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series schedule since 2007. 

Website: www.OhswekenSpeedway.com
Facebook: www.Facebook.com/OHSWEKENSPEEDWAY
Twitter: @OhswekenSpdway
Instagram: www.Instagram.com/OhswekenSpeedway
YouTube: www.YouTube.com/user/OhswekenSpdway

Ohsweken Speedway thanks the following partners for their support in 2017: Arrow Express, Kool Kidz Ice & Water, Corr/Pak Merchandising Inc., Renway Energy, Case IH O’Neil’s Farm Equipment, Hoosier Tire Canada, EPIC Racewear, McDonald’s Restaurants of Paris & Brantford, Ackland Insurance, Strickland’s GMC, Lucas Oil, Burger Barn, Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Creative Edge Signs & Graphics, Insta-Insulation, Middleport Mechanical, HRW Automotive, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket.