Travis Rutz and his team traveled more than 4,200 kilometres from their Langley, British Columbia home to race in the 2009 Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Travis’ promising career was cut short a week after he arrived in Ohsweken for the first time, due to a severe brain injury suffered in a Sprint Car crash at Terre Haute, Indiana.

by Tommy Goudge (August 24, 2016) – Ohsweken, Ontario – Ohsweken Speedway officials are pleased to announce a new prize to be given out at the Arrow Express Canadian Sprint Car Nationals on September 17.

The Travis Rutz Long Tow Award presented by Best Western Cairn Croft Hotel includes a $250 cash prize for the team which travels the furthest distance to compete in the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals.

The new award is named for Travis Rutz, who traveled more than 4,200 kilometres with his team from their Langley, British Columbia home to race in the 2009 Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. His promising career was cut short a week after Travis arrived in Ohsweken for the first time, as he suffered a severe brain injury in a Sprint Car crash at Terre Haute, Indiana. Although just 21 years old at the time of the crash, Travis’ resume already included a pair of wins in the Gold Cup – western Canada’s most prestigious Sprint Car race – at Edmonton’s Castrol Raceway, and 19 A-Feature wins at Skagit Speedway in Alger, Washington.

Many other cash prizes will also be available, pushing the total purse for the Saturday, September 17 event over $70,000. Stay tuned for more exciting announcements coming soon regarding Canada’s largest Sprint Car event!

About Best Western Cairn Croft Hotel: Located on Lundy’s Lane in Niagara Falls, Ontario, the Best Western Cairn Croft Hotel is one of the city’s most popular courtyard-style hotels. The Cade-family owned facility is located just minutes from many of Niagara Falls’ most popular attractions. Their enclosed courtyard is a tropical paradise featuring towering trees, gardens, and lush foliage. You’ll enjoy the heated indoor pool, gazebo, kids play park, whirlpool hot tubs, and Doc Magilligan’s Restaurant & Irish Pub. A visit to this beautiful region is only enhanced by the comfort and hospitality extended by the Best Western Cairn Croft Hotel. For more information, please visit them at 6400 Lundy’s Lane in Niagara Falls, call them at 1-800-263-2551, and visit their website at

Tickets and campsite reservations are available NOW for the 2016 CSCN weekend. Call 519-717-0023 or visit for more information on ticket sales and campsite reservations.

The deadline for competitors to receive the $35 “Early Bird” discount on their Canadian Sprint Car Nationals entry fee is August 26, 2016. “Early Bird” entries also permit the driver free entry to the pit area on Saturday, September 17. Teams are asked to submit basic pre-entry information online at the following link:

The 2016 Canadian Sprint Car Nationals weekend will kick off with a Test & Tune session on Thursday, September 15, while racing will commence Friday, September 16 with the Burger Barn Night Before the Nationals, and finish with the 12th annual Arrow Express Canadian Sprint Car Nationals on Saturday, September 17.

The 12th annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals will include group time trials for the 360 Sprint Cars, plus 6 Heat Races, 3 B-Features, a Dash, 15 lap “Little Feature”, and the 35 lap A-Feature which will pay the winner $12,000 from the lucrative purse. The Ohsweken Speedway Thunder Stocks will be the support division for the 360 Sprint Cars on Saturday, September 17.

This year’s Burger Barn Night Before the Nationals again includes a pair of 15 lap A-Features for the 360 Sprint Cars, plus the Dave McLeod Memorial Shootout, Kevin Ward, Jr. Young Stars Challenge, and the Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Car and HRW Automotive Mini Stock divisions. The Empire Super Sprints will also make up their rained-out A-Feature from Friday, August 5 at the Night Before the Nationals.

Both of the Twin 15 A-Feature winners on Friday will be guaranteed a starting spot in the Saturday night Canadian Sprint Car Nationals A-Feature. The Dave McLeod Memorial Shootout features the top drivers from each of the five CSCN affiliate sanctions, plus two “Wild Card” entries. The youngest drivers signed in for competition on the Night Before the Nationals will make up the 13 car starting field for the 13 lap Kevin Ward, Jr. “Young Stars Challenge”.

Teams traveling to Ohsweken from outside Canada are encouraged to click on the Competitors Info link on – direct link: – to view and print documents which will help you in the international border crossing process.

The Canadian Sprint Car Nationals has been the annual season-closing event at Ohsweken Speedway since 2005, and brings together drivers and teams from several affiliated sanctioning organizations in the area, plus teams and drivers from all over North America. The event has drawn an average of 70 entries for the 11 previous editions, with a total of 238 different drivers from 16 American states, 5 Canadian provinces, Australia, and New Zealand taking part.

2005 – Kenny Jacobs, Holmesville OH
2006 – Steve Poirier, Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil QC
2007 – Steve Poirier, Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil QC
2008 – Wayne Johnson, Mustang OK
2009 – Shane Stewart, Bixby OK
2010 – Shane Stewart, Bixby OK
2011 – Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Sunnyvale TX
2012 – Steve Poirier, Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil QC
2013 – Shane Stewart, Bixby OK
2014 – Jessica Zemken, Sprakers NY
2015 – Bryan Howland, Auburn NY

About Ohsweken Speedway: Founded in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex which includes a 3/8 (0.375) mile clay oval track. The facility is owned by the Styres family, and located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday night racing program runs from May to September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Bombers, while the season finishes each year with the annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Ohsweken Speedway also hosts weekly Micro Sprint racing on Thursday nights, and has been a yearly stop on the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series schedule since 2007.

Twitter: @OhswekenSpdway

Ohsweken Speedway thanks the following partners for their support: Arrow Express, Kool Kidz Ice & Water, Corr/Pak Merchandising Inc., Renway Energy, Case IH O’Neil’s Farm Equipment, Hoosier Tire Canada, EPIC Racewear, McDonald’s Restaurants of Paris & Brantford, Ackland Insurance, Strickland’s GMC, Mobil 1, Burger Barn, Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Creative Edge Signs & Graphics, Insta-Insulation, Affordable Towing & Recovery, HRW Automotive, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket.