by Tommy Goudge (August 3, 2016) – Ohsweken, Ontario – Ohsweken Speedway’s 21st season of racing continues this Friday, August 5 when McDonald’s Restaurants of Brantford & Paris present Empire Super Sprints versus Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Car Night.

The Kool Kidz Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars will defend home turf against the Empire Super Sprints tour on Friday. The Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars, Affordable Towing & Recovery Thunder Stocks, HRW Automotive Mini Stocks, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket Bombers will also be contesting the 12th round of their weekly racing series.

The Thunder Stocks will be running double features, as they will complete the 20 lap A-Feature which was postponed due to rain on Frankie Turkey Memorial Night presented by O’Neil’s Farm Equipment Case IH July 8. The winner of the postponed A-Feature will receive the Pinty’s wings for a year prize which was to be handed out on July 8.

Current Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak Sprint Car championship leader Mitch Brown scored a win for the home track drivers over the ESS invaders last year, while 6-time ESS champ Steve Poirier was the winner in both 2013 and 2014. Jason Barney is the current ESS championship points leader heading into Friday’s event, while Poirier leads the ESS Canada Tour standings.

An average of 120 drivers have signed in for competition each week this season at Ohsweken. Racing will take the green flag at 7:30pm this Friday, August 5. Visit the official Ohsweken Speedway website at for ticket prices and more information.

About McDonald’s Restaurants of Brantford & Paris: McDonald’s restaurants have served the world some of its favourite food since 1955. McDonald’s is more than just your local restaurant. They’re hardworking small businessmen and women, students working part-time, seniors getting the most out of life, and volunteers lending time to make a difference in the communities they live and work in. McDonald’s locations in Brantford include 73 King George Road, 27 Stanley Street, 300 King George Road, and 299 Wayne Gretzky Parkway, while they’re also in Paris at 307 Grand River Street North. Grab a bite to eat on the way to the races, or visit the drive-thru on your way home. Visit for more information.

Reserve your seats now for the 12th annual Arrow Express Canadian Sprint Car Nationals weekend. Call 519 717-0023 or visit for more information.

-Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars
Championship points leader: Mitch Brown
Rookie of the Year leader: Dylan Westbrook
A-Feature Winners: Mitch Brown – 2 (May 27, June 17); Dylan Westbrook – 2 (July 15, July 22); Jake Brown – 1 (May 20); Mikey Kruchka – 1 (June 3); Jared Zimbardi – 1 (June 10); Steve Poirier – 1 (June 24); Dave Dykstra – 1 (July 1); Jim Huppunen – 1 (July 22); Kasey Kahne – 1 (July 25)

-Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars
Championship points leader: Jesse McDonald
Rookie of the Year leader: Jesse McDonald
A-Feature Winners:  Mack DeMan – 4 (June 17, July 15, July 22, July 25); Ryan Hunsinger – 3 (May 20, May 27, June 3); Jesse McDonald – 2 (June 24, July 1); Josh Shantz – 1 (June 10)

-Affordable Towing & Recovery Thunder Stocks
Championship points leader: Karl Sault
Rookie of the Year leader: Jason Lungaro
A-Feature Winners: Ryan Dinning – 5 (May 27, June 17, June 24, July 1, July 15); Dave Bailey – 3 (May 20, June 10, July 25); Wyatt Van Wart – 1 (June 3); Jim Lampman – 1 (July 22); Karl Sault – 1 (July 25)

-HRW Automotive Mini Stocks
Championship points leader: Brandon Janssens
Rookie of the Year leader: Brandon Crumbie
A-Feature Winners: Mark Bazuin – 4 (June 10, July 1, July 8, July 26); Jon Janssens – 2 (June 3, June 24); Brandon Crumbie – 2 (June 17, July 22); Brandon Janssens – 1 (May 27); Chris Ryckman – 1 (July 26)

-Gale’s Auto Aftermarket Bombers
Championship points leader: Dustin Longboat
Rookie of the Year leader: Joey Wilcox
A-Feature winners: Wayde Thorne – 4 (May 27, June 3, June 17, July 8); Jerry Burnham – 2 (June 24, July 1); Dustin Longboat – 2 (June 10, July 22); Jake Maas – 1 (May 20); Fabio Olivieri – 1 (July 15)

About Ohsweken Speedway: Founded in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex which includes a 3/8 (0.375) mile clay oval track. The facility is owned by the Styres family, and located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday night racing program runs from May to September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Bombers, while the season finishes each year with the annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Ohsweken Speedway also hosts weekly Micro Sprint racing on Thursday nights, and has been a yearly stop on the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series schedule since 2007.

Twitter: @OhswekenSpdway

Ohsweken Speedway thanks the following partners for their support: Arrow Express, Kool Kidz Ice & Water, Corr/Pak Merchandising Inc., Renway Energy, Case IH O’Neil’s Farm Equipment, Hoosier Tire Canada, EPIC Racewear, McDonald’s Restaurants of Paris & Brantford, Ackland Insurance, Strickland’s GMC, Mobil 1, Burger Barn, Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Creative Edge Signs & Graphics, Insta-Insulation, Affordable Towing & Recovery, HRW Automotive, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket.