by Tommy Goudge

OHSWEKEN, Ont. (May 30, 2019) – The Ohsweken Speedway Wall of Fame committee is pleased to announce the 2019 class of inductees. John & Wendy Brush, Ryan Hunsinger, Rob Pietz, and Zeger Van Thuyl will be honoured on Wall of Fame Night on Friday, June 14 as Ohsweken Speedway celebrates the past and looks forward to the future during the track’s 24th season of racing.

As the owners of Corr/Pak Merchandising, John and Wendy Brush have been staunch supporters of short track open wheel racing for many years. Corr/Pak’s support was instrumental in the formation of Ohsweken’s weekly 360 Sprint Car racing program which began in 2008 and continues to this day. Corr/Pak has also been the presenting sponsor of the Bill Peer Memorial Best Appearing Car Award at the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals since the event’s inception in 2005.

Ryan Hunsinger has competed and won in almost all of the divisions which have been part of Ohsweken’s weekly racing program since the track opened in 1996. A competitor at Ohsweken since the very beginning, “The Gunslinger” claimed his first track championship in 2014. At the time of his induction, Ryan’s list of Ohsweken feature wins includes 10 in Crate Sprint Cars (second all-time in the division), four in 360 Sprint Cars, two in Sportsman Modifieds, and two in Mod Stocks.

Rob Pietz is among the most decorated racers in the history of Ohsweken Speedway’s Sportsman Modified division. Pietz’s total of 22 Sportsman victories rank the 2002 track champion second all-time on the Ohsweken list at the time of his induction. Pietz has also been competitive in Sprint Car and Late Model events at Ohsweken, and claimed the win in the lone Late Model event held at the track in 2018.

Zeger Van Thuyl has logged thousands of laps around Ohsweken Speedway, but most of them were spent on tractors as he and his crew groomed the track surface. Thanks in no small part to Zeger’s dedication, Ohsweken gained a reputation for having a fast and wide surface capable of producing some of the best racing in the country. “Zeger spent countless hours making the program possible for many years,” said fellow Wall of Fame inductee Ken Pelkie.

About the Ohsweken Speedway Wall of Fame: The Ohsweken Speedway Wall of Fame is dedicated to celebrating the achievements and contributions of those who have helped Ohsweken Speedway to become a premiere racing facility, and inspired generations to come. Selections will be made annually by the Wall of Fame committee, with potential honourees including (but not limited to) drivers, car owners, manufacturers, car builders, mechanics, sponsors, promoters, officials, sanctioning organizations, and media members.

The community is invited to submit nominations for induction to the Wall of Fame, and all nominations are given due consideration. The number of inductees in any given year shall be at the discretion of the Wall of Fame committee. The inductees are announced in spring each year and the official induction ceremony is held at Ohsweken Speedway on a selected race night during the subsequent season.

The 2019 Wall of Fame Night festivities are set for Friday, June 14, two days before the anniversary of Ohsweken’s inaugural race in 1996. Nominations for the 2019 Wall of Fame class were accepted until February 28, 2019. To nominate a candidate for consideration for the 2020 Wall of Fame class, please contact media@ohswekenspeedway.com, or utilize the nomination form on the Ohsweken Speedway website at www.ohswekenspeedway.ca


MavTV Canada’s All North Racing Powered by Pinty’s
Ohsweken Speedway is excited to announce its Friday Night Excitement racing will be the centerpiece of a new international television broadcast on MavTV Canada called All North Racing powered by Pinty’s. All North Racing will visit Ohsweken for six live broadcasts that will be re-aired multiple times in Canada and the United States. The MavTV broadcasts are scheduled for May 31, June 21, July 22, July 23, August 30 and September 14. These broadcasts include both nights of the Northern Summer Nationals featuring Tony Stewart, Christopher Bell and Rico Abreu as well as the 15th annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. For more information on MavTV Canada, visit www.facebook.com/MAVTVCanada.

Northern Summer Nationals Tickets Available Now
Tony Stewart, Christopher Bell and Rico Abreu are coming to Ohsweken Speedway for two action-packed nights on July 22-23. All three Sprint Car stars will be in action both nights for two $5,000-to-win 360 Sprint Car shows. Tickets and camping for the Northern Summer Nationals are on sale online at https://ohswekenspeedway.ticketforce.com/ or can be purchased by phone by calling (519) 717-0023.

Ohsweken Speedway Live Stream
Can’t make it to the track or don’t live within driving distance? No problem! Check out all of Ohsweken’s weekly Friday Night Excitement action live online for free via the Ohsweken Speedway Live Stream. The stream goes live at 7:30pm EST each race night at www.OhswekenSpeedway.ca and on our official Facebook page.

Ohsweken Speedway’s 24th season of weekly Friday Night Excitement features four divisions of racing, including the Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars, Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars, Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stocks and HRW Automotive Mini Stocks. Visit www.OhswekenSpeedway.com or call (519) 717-0023 for more information.

About Ohsweken Speedway: Founded in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex which includes a 3/8 (0.375) mile clay oval track. The facility is owned by the Styres family, and located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday night racing program runs from May to September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks and Mini Stocks. The season finishes each year with the track’ annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Ohsweken Speedway also hosts weekly Micro Sprint racing on Thursday nights.

Phone: (519) 717-0023
Email: media@ohswekenspeedway.com
Website: www.OhswekenSpeedway.com
Facebook: www.Facebook.com/OHSWEKENSPEEDWAY
Twitter: @OhswekenSpdway
Instagram: www.Instagram.com/OhswekenSpeedway
YouTube: www.YouTube.com/user/OhswekenSpdway

Ohsweken Speedway thanks the following partners for their support: Nitro 54 Variety, Ackland Insurance, Arrow Express, Auto Parts Centres, Bradshaw Brothers Fuels, Burger Barn, Case IH O’Neil’s Farm Equipment, Core-Mark International, Corr/Pak Merchandising Inc., Creative Edge Signs & Graphics, EPIC Racewear, Gale’s Auto Aftermarket, Grisdale Racing Products, Hoosier Tire Canada, HRW Automotive, Insta-Insulation/Insta-Panels, Jibs Action Sports, Kool Kidz Ice & Water, McDonald’s Restaurants of Paris & Brantford, Middleport Mechanical, Miska Trailer Factory, Club 54 Racing, Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Renway Energy, Rochester Knighthawks, Strickland’s GMC and Victory Gamez.