Resolution of Technical Protest: Mike Bowman Confirmed as Winner of the 2023 Northern Sprint Car Nationals

OHSWEKEN, Ont. (September 26, 2023) – Following the conclusion of the 19th Running of the Northern Sprint Car Nationals at Ohsweken Speedway on September 16, 2023, a technical protest was initiated by the second-place finisher, Sam Hafertepe Jr.

In response to the protest, an extensive examination of the Magneto and Ignition Box installed in the race car of the event’s winner, Mike Bowman, was conducted with the specific objective of investigating the potential presence of Traction Control devices. Ohsweken Speedway Management and Technical Officials promptly acknowledged and accepted the protest, adhering to the principles of equity and transparency that define motorsports.

Both the Magneto and Ignition Box from the vehicles of Mike Bowman and Sam Hafertepe Jr. were removed and shipped to the manufacturer for comprehensive testing. The testing process was coordinated and executed at the MSD – Repair Facility located in El Paso, Texas. We are pleased to announce that the results have been received.

In a written response from Graham Fordyce, Circle Track Sales Manager for Holley, the parent company of MSD, an official declaration has been made: “No electronic devices were found in any of the units.” With this unambiguous confirmation, it is our obligation to officially declare Mike Bowman as the Winner of the 2023 Northern Sprint Car Nationals.

This resolution reaffirms Ohsweken Speedway’s unwavering commitment to upholding the integrity of competitive racing and ensuring that the rules and regulations governing the sport are consistently applied with the utmost fairness and impartiality. We extend our sincere appreciation for the patience, understanding, and continued support of the racing community, fans, and all involved parties throughout this process.