by Tommy Goudge (May 16, 2016) – Ohsweken, Ontario – It’s finally here; Ohsweken Speedway’s 21st annual Season Opener presented by Ackland Insurance will take the green flag this Friday, May 20 at 7:30pm!

Large fields are expected this season in all of the regular Friday night divisions, including the Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars, Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars, Affordable Towing & Recovery Thunder Stocks, HRW Automotive Mini Stocks, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket Bombers.

Glenn Styres enters the Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Car season opener ready to defend his 2014 and 2015 track championships. He will have stiff competition for this year’s championship, with Mitch Brown, Todd Hoddick, Derek Jonathan, Jamie Turner, Jim Huppunen, Chris Steele, Dave Dykstra, Cory Turner, Ryan Turner, and Tyler Hendricks all set to return. Rookie of the Year candidates in the 360 Sprint Car division include Barry Beck, Jr., Steve Lyons, Dylan Westbrook, and Jake Brown

2015 Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Car champ Dylan Westbrook and runner-up Jake Brown have moved to 360’s this season, but 2014 champ Ryan Hunsinger has a new ride, and he’s ready to go for another title. He’ll face competition from returnees like Mark Czuba, Josh Shantz, Mack DeMan, Aaron Turkey, Mike Thorne, Brad Herron, and Holly Porter. Rookie of the Year contenders will include Mike Bell, Alex Schuts, Hannah Ferrell, Corey Gruhl, Jerry Hill, Shone Evans, Jesse McDonald, and Jerry Hill.

Dave Bailey served notice that he’s back to defend the Affordable Towing & Recovery Thunder Stock championship by setting a new track record in the Test & Tune session last Friday. Repeating won’t be easy for Bailey as a long list of challengers will be going for the title, including Wyatt Van Wart, Jim Lampman, Dereck Lemyre, Chris Dickie, Ryan Dinning, Karl Sault, and Ryan Dinning. The Rookie of the Year class includes Trevor Somers, Mike Ferguson, Jason Lungaro, and Travis Torelli.

Brandon Janssens’ 2015 HRW Automotive Mini Stock championship wasn’t secured until the final lap last season, and things aren’t likely to get any easier this season. Championship runner-up Jason Lungaro has moved to Thunder Stocks, but many strong contenders remain for Janssens, including Chris Ryckman, Mark Bazuin, Jon Janssens, Doug Erskine, Jason Dixon, and Tim Deboer. A large contingent of drivers are eligible for Rookie of the Year, including three-time Bomber champ Dusty Deboer.

Several feature-winning drivers in the Gale’s Auto Aftermarket Bomber division are moving to Mini Stocks – including three-time champ Dusty DeBoer – leaving the championship chase wide open this year. Close to half the field on a given night could be made up of Rookie of the Year contenders, as a large group of drivers will be competing in the Bomber division for the first time this season.

Reserve your seats NOW for the Burger Barn Northern Crate Nationals, Arrow Express Six Nations Showdown featuring the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series, and 12th annual Arrow Express Canadian Sprint Car Nationals weekend. Call 519 717-0023 or visit for more information about Special Event Tickets, Gift Certificates, Season Tickets, Parking Passes, Pit Passes, Memberships, and more.

About Ackland Insurance: Nathan Ackland has served the Brantford area for more than a decade. His agency offers many products, including car, home, life, and business insurance. He specializes in moves to the Brantford area and is a proud supporter of local racing, sports, and charities. Nathan’s mission is to help people manage the risks of everyday life, recover from the unexpected, and realize their dreams. Visit the Ackland Insurance office at 206 King George Road in Brantford, call him at 519 754-8700, or toll free at 877 754-8707, and visit for more information.

About Ohsweken Speedway:
Founded in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex which includes a 3/8 (0.375) mile clay oval track. The facility is owned by the Styres family, and located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday night racing program runs from May to September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Bombers, while the season finishes each year with the annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Ohsweken Speedway also hosts weekly Micro Sprint racing on Thursday nights, and has been a yearly stop on the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series schedule since 2007.

Twitter: @OhswekenSpdway

Ohsweken Speedway thanks the following partners for their support: Arrow Express, Kool Kidz Ice & Water, Corr/Pak Merchandising Inc., Renway Energy, Case IH O’Neil’s Farm Equipment, Hoosier Tire Canada, EPIC Racewear, McDonald’s Restaurants of Paris & Brantford, Ackland Insurance, Strickland’s GMC, Mobil 1, Burger Barn, Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Creative Edge Signs & Graphics, Insta-Insulation, Affordable Towing & Recovery, HRW Automotive, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket.