By Clayton Johns

OHSWEKEN, Ont. – June 1, 2017 – Ohsweken Speedway’s 22nd season of Friday Night Excitement continues on Friday, June 2 when NASCAR Legend Ken Schrader visits with the UMP Modifieds on Club 54 Tobacco night. All five of Ohsweken Speedways weekly divisions will also be in action. Drivers in every division are excited to hit the high-banked 3/8-mile after a week off from racing.

Kids 12 and under can sign-up for the Ohsweken Speedway Kids Club, which includes FREE grandstand admission, a souvenir t-shirt, membership card, VIP treatment and other cool perks throughout the season, such as pre-race activities, pit tours and driver meet & greets. Kids Club memberships are just $20. A few lucky Kids Club members will get the chance to ride in the Strickland’s GMC Pace Truck this week.

UMP Modifieds

The DIRTcar UMP Modifieds make their annual return to Ohsweken on Friday night for the first of two appearances in 2017. NASCAR legend Ken Schrader will be in attendance to battle the local UMP Modified stars. Schrader won in his visit to Ohsweken last July while South Buxton Raceway driver Eugene Hoekstra won the division’s date last September. The 700+ horsepower UMP Modifieds always showcase their best when they visit Ohsweken and this visit is sure to be the same.


Alex Hill recorded her first career 360 Sprint Car win at Ohsweken to start the season two weeks ago. With the Six Nations teenager away from the track this week, a number of drivers will look to become the second different winner in as many races. Scotland-based driver Dylan Westbrook currently holds the point lead ahead of Brantford’s Jake Brown, Caistor Centre driver Cory Turner and Fenwick’s Jim Huppunen.


Ryan Hunsinger scored the opening night win with the Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars and now hopes the momentum generated from the victory will continue to roll this week. The opening race to the division’s fourth season marked the first time in its history a B-Main was required when 27 cars rolled into the pit area. The rest of the field looks to earn their first win of the season and keep Hunsinger at bay, who holds a slim four-point advantage in the championship standings. Caledonia’s Jesse McDonald, Shone Evans of Scotland, Josh Shantz of St. Agatha and Mack DeMan of Mississauga complete the current top-five.


Dave Bailey led only the final two laps of opening night action for the Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stocks, but it was enough to secure the opening night win and the points lead entering the second round of action on Friday. The defending track champion from Hagersville holds the early point lead over Jim Lampman, Shawn Chenoweth, Derek Lemyre and Karl Sault.


Jon Janssens continued was the second reigning champion to find victory lane on opening night when he stole the lead from runner-up Mark Bazuin with four laps to go. Entering the second night of action, Janssens leads Bazuin in the championship standings by just four points ahead of Gary Hodgson, Brandon Janssens and Matt Nuell.


Lucas Smith won the opening battle in the Gale’s Auto Aftermarket Bomber division when he held off defending champion Dustin Longboat for the win. Smith now holds the early points lead over Longboat, Adam Halbert, Gerald Burnham and Paul Longboat.


Tickets for the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series Six Nations Showdown, Northern Summer Nationals, Triple Crown Showdown, and Canadian Sprint Car Nationals are on sale now! Visit or call 519-717-0023 to order and for more information.

About Ohsweken Speedway: Founded in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex which includes a 3/8 (0.375) mile clay oval track. The facility is owned by the Styres family, and located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday night racing program runs from May to September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Bombers, while the season finishes each year with the annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Ohsweken Speedway also hosts weekly Micro Sprint racing on Thursday nights, and has been a yearly stop on the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series schedule since 2007.

Twitter: @OhswekenSpdway

Ohsweken Speedway thanks the following partners for their support in 2017: Arrow Express, Kool Kidz Ice & Water, Corr/Pak Merchandising Inc., Renway Energy, Case IH O’Neil’s Farm Equipment, Hoosier Tire Canada, EPIC Racewear, McDonald’s Restaurants of Paris & Brantford, Ackland Insurance, Strickland’s GMC, Lucas Oil, Burger Barn, Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Creative Edge Signs & Graphics, Insta-Insulation, Middleport Mechanical, HRW Automotive, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket.